Week 18. Mauritius. Cassoulet Mauricien.

The house feels empty without them and I have developed severe OCD.

Ever since my wife and son jetted off to New Zealand for a few weeks I’ve been rushing about the house like a mad-man. For the time being I don’t have to spend my time concentrating on keeping a toddler from serious injury so my attention has turned to the tiny imperfections in our house. I’ve been cleaning toasters, washing walls, cleaning windows, re-touching areas where a flake of paint had come off. I’ve lost the bleeding plot! I assume I’m “trying to keep busy” but I feel very relaxed about them being away; instead I think I am a bit of a nutter who can’t sit still.

Tonight I’m cleaning nothing, well maybe the oven, but that is because I’m busy creating a Mauritian dish to complete week 18.  I know a bit about Mauritius, but that’s largely as my Dad went there once with work and I believe him to be the only person in the history of the world to have spent 3 days in Mauritius and never once lay eyes on a beach. Due to his conference hotel being in the centre of the island and the fact that he is an un-diagnosed narcoleptic he slept through arrival, and departure, and then worked all week in the hotel. Incredible.

When I began to research the cuisine in Mauritius I found a rich history which included Portuguese, French, British, Creole and Indian influences. I wanted, if possible, to steer away from another curry so I opted for the Cassoulet. I adore Cassoulet but have only ever eaten the French version and had never tried to alter it. What excited me about the Mauritian Cassoulet was that is was different and bold. There is more ginger, garlic, spice in it than the French version and these were clearly Indian influences. I had decided, so I set to work.

Review:

I knew I’d love this and I absolutely did. Spicy, meaty, filling and fresh. Very good. This, though, is a dish for winter and I cannot imagine eating it on a Mauritian beach. I definitely would though, even if I needed to find some windy shade to cool me down.

Recipe:

  • 2 Onions
  • Tbsp Garlic
  • Tbsp Ginger
  • Tbsp Chopped Thyme
  • 3 Chopped Chillis
  • 10 Sausages
  • 1 large serloin steak
  • 10 rashers smoked bacon
  • 500g cannellini beans
  • 350g Chopped Toms
  • Handful Parsley

In a casserole sweat the garlic, ginger, onions, chilli and thyme in a good glug of oil.

At the same time 70% cook the sausages under a grill

Once the onions are translucent add the chopped tomatoes and cook for about 10 mins. Then add the bacon and the beef steak and coook for another 10 mins. Then add the sausages (chopped into 2 inch pieces) and the beans and cook for another 15 mins. Finish it with the parsley. Done

Leave a Reply

