Week 36. Ukraine. Chicken Kiev.

For the few of you (who I love by the way) who follow this blog regularly, you would have noticed that I have not been around for a few weeks. In summary it is because I have changed my life quite dramatically.

For the last ten years I have been travelling 5 minutes to work and working an 8 hour day, before returning to my family and having a lot of spare time. The time came, however, to challenge the status quo and get out of my comfort zone. So – I now leave home at 7am, commute into London and get home at 8pm. This being the case I needed to consider how I was going to manage the blog.

During the first 35 weeks of putting together this blog I have considered many things. I don’t feel that writing about food comes naturally even though I love it, but when I get the bit between my teeth I can mind dump pretty easily. I also considered trying to hint that I was here ready and waiting for someone to invest in me….put me on TV, make me the new Jaimie…..but I knew that was futile and massively sad! So I decided that this blog is just what it is – some bloke cooking a dish from every country in the world. Maybe it is to say that to the grand kids one day. That would do.

Anyway – back into it. I drew Ukraine this week and had a difficult decision to make. The national dish is somewhere between the dishes I cooked for Georgia and Belarus, but I didn’t want to repeat things…so I took a bit of a side swipe. When I was at School I had a CDT teacher called Mr Hernczach (spelling likely wrong). He was from Kiev in Ukraine and was famous at school from being from the home of the Chicken Kiev. Chicken Kiev is not a national dish but is quickly becoming a modern classic. Whether folk from Ukraine actually cook this dish I don’t know, but what I do know is that whatever it is I like it. It’s an oven meal classic!

Making a Kiev is fun. Firstly you blend butter, parsley, garlic, lemon juice and salt together and then form into thin tubes. Pop them in the fridge until they reform into butter sausages. Next you smash a chicken breast until it is about a quarter as thick as it was originally. Pop the butter sausage on top, wrap it in the chicken, drizzle in flour and then dunk in beaten egg. Finally cover in breadcrumbs and either deep fry (12 mins) or bake (30 mins). Make sure the chicken is not at all red or ideally 85 degrees C (buy a thermometer – it will change your life).

They were delicious as I expected they would be. You will see from the photo though that no butter mix ooozed out when cut and that was something which troubled me in the making of it as every supermarket Kiev I have bought did that. How, though, can you take a flat thing and make it into a ball from which nothing will escape. The answer is that you can’t and that is why the shop bought Kievs are wrong. They are re-formed blitzed meat. Rank.

I had fun doing this blog again. I will be back each week and without worrying about what I say. If you have read this I loves ya

4 thoughts on “Week 36. Ukraine. Chicken Kiev.

Leave a Reply

